Trying to Have It All

August 10, 2010 at 4:08 pm Leave a comment

SuperwomanI’ll never be SuperMom, but that doesn’t mean I can’t try and have it all.

If there’s anything that turning 40 and watching your 39-year-old husband battle cancer teaches you, it’s that thinking you’ll always have later to live the life you really want is foolhardiness. Later is NOW and I’d rather not be the fool who on my death bed rattles off my list of “should’a, could’a, would’ves” to my loved ones in a pathetic attempt to add meaning to my life.

That is what I kept thinking when I knew I’d have to give up being a full-time, stay-at-home Mom to return to work. If I now had to give up some of my time caring for my family (which is all I wanted to do), so that I could provide for them, I’d better love what I do. Otherwise, it felt like we were all being cheated.

Gretchen Reid of Motherhood Transitions helped me to see clear of the box I had put myself in, which is why I’ve written a guest post on her blog today about where I started over a year ago and how this month, I finally find myself Coming Full Circle…

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Cancer, Career. Tags: , , .

The First Day that Wasn’t This Time’s For Real

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories



2button125x125copy