Daddy-Daughter Day

March 8, 2010 at 10:12 pm 5 comments

Part of Perfect Moment Mondays…

Some of my favorite moments in my daughter’s life happen when I’m not even there. By design. Other special moments I’ve missed, I will grieve over, but these… I relish. Because it means a special bond is being built between the two people I love the most. A different kind of bond than I will ever have with either of them. I call them daddy-daughter days.

This weekend ended with hot chocolate and pancakes at the Rise & Shine Cafe in Winter Park. With sorting, stacking and organizing the jellies in their holder until the strawberry, grape and blackberry each occupied their own space.

But, it began with a day spent on a snow-covered hill in Hideaway Park. One that the previous year was feared when ridden with Mommy on a little red sled. We would not name it Rosebud.

This year, at the fearless age of three, another little red sled, was embraced with Daddy on the same snow-covered hill. To hear it told later, Daddy and Reagan rode down (and walked back up) 100 times. And each time at the bottom, a cheer to do it again was shouted with unbridled enthusiasm. All afternoon, while I was having my own glorious day riding the mountain, my better half and my half pint were building a perfect moment, 100 times over.

Entry filed under: Mr. Mom, Raising Reagan. Tags: , , , , .

Facebook. What it is good for. Water 2 Wine

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori in Denver  |  March 9, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Wow — 100 times!

    It is wonderful to watch the people you love as they laugh and build memories together. Awesome!

    Reply
  • 2. Catherine @ Evolving Mommy  |  March 11, 2010 at 7:59 am

    As a wife a mother I totally know what you mean. I love that my husband and daughter have a special bond all there own and that they take the time to continue to build that bond without me hovering.

    Reply
  • 3. Suzanne (Crunchy green Mom)  |  March 16, 2010 at 11:38 am

    That is so cool! I love seeing fathers and daughters having those moments.

    You are both lucky to have him around, even those days when it gets rough!

    BTW, we should play date with the kids.. mine would LOVE to have a girl their age to mingle with!

    Reply
  • 4. Lori  |  March 19, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Your little girl is beautiful and she sure looks like she’s having fun with Daddy.

    Reply
  • 5. Barb  |  March 19, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Loved meeting R. last night! She is such a cutie…enjoy all the little moments you do get!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


