Parting is Such Sweet… Satisfaction?

January 18, 2010 at 5:10 pm 4 comments

Part of Perfect Moment Mondays…

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I told my daughter, who is just shy of 3-years-old, that we were going to put together a box of her toys to give to kids who don’t have any. She doesn’t play with most of them anyway and we needed to make room for all her new Christmas loot. So, when she ran straight to her room and came out carrying as much as her little arms could hold, I was stunned, but, pleased. Mostly, I wasn’t sure if she understood. I guess I was expecting the process to be a whole lot more painful.

“Here! Here! They can have this (name of toy) and this (name of toy)!” she exclaimed with joy, then ran back into her room to get more. Back and forth, until her drawers were emptied.

“And this!” she said handing me a toy Santa had just given her for Christmas.

“Reagan? Are you sure? You just got this?”

“Yeah.”

“You realize you’re never going to see this again? Never get to play with it? It’s going to someone else if we put it in the box?”

“Yeah. It’s for my friends.”

“You’re sure?”

“Yeah. They want it. Reagan don’t want it.”

“Okay.” I said, setting that one aside. We didn’t want to hurt Santa’s feelings after all. 😉

Not completely convinced that Reagan knew exactly what we were doing, I held off on taking the box to Goodwill right away. I let it sit for a few days and added even more toys to it from other parts of the house that I thought she might have grown out of. Then on Sunday I pulled out what had now become two boxes, and explained again to Reagan that they were going to go to some kids who wanted them. I showed her each toy one at a time and asked her if it was okay.

“Yeah. They want that,” would come her reply, except in a few cases of some pitiful, little stuffed Pooh dolls, where I heard, “No. That’s Reagan’s Pooh. They not want that.”

I was impressed by the amount of toys she was willing to part with and my heart smiled that it was Pooh Bear, my favorite, and the decor I’ve surrounded her with since birth that she had chosen to keep. But what really touched my heart was when she picked out a ratty, plush, pink hippo wrist-rattle that had been just sitting in a drawer for over a year. I had no idea if she even remembered using it as a baby.

“That Reagan’s raddle! They not want my raddle!” and she quickly put it on her wrist.

As hard as I thought the first parting with Reagan’s toys would be, for both of us, Reagan has shown me that she understands they are just things and there is no need to hold any attachment to them. But, by choosing the items that held the most sentimental value to her, I can see that she also understands the value of memories. She chose well.

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Raising Reagan. Tags: , , , .

Are Fairytale Princesses Passe in 2010? Office Hours

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori in Denver  |  January 18, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    What a secure and generous young lady you have there.

    I love it — perfect, indeed!

    Reply
  • 2. Melissa  |  January 18, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    that is such a sweet story!

    We give toys & clothes to Goodwill maybe every 6 months, and we’ve never had any problem parting with anything.

    Now when I try to sell their things on Craigslist… they are convinced, “no Mommy, we need the crib!”

    Bless Reagan’s generous spirit.

    Reply
  • 3. Amber's Crazy Bloggin' Canuck  |  February 3, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    SUCH a sweetie pie. She will love this story in years to come!

    Reply
  • 4. Tiffany  |  February 8, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Aw, sweet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


