Give the People What They Want!

December 21, 2009 at 2:40 am 9 comments

Part of Perfect Moment Mondays…

On Saturday night, we had eight of our friends over to join us in watching the undefeated New Orleans Saints play the Dallas Cowboys. The Saints are my husband’s, and several of his friends’ home team. While the Saints flag previously adorned a snowman in October, last night it was hung proudly from our balcony, welcoming all believers in miracles inside.

Reagan gets extremely excited whenever we have guests, and last night was no exception. She was bouncing off the walls yelling “Who Dat?! Who Dat?!” all night to the encouragement of our friends. She brought every toy, blanket and thing-a-ma-bob out from her room to share, leaving them in a pile in front of the television. I could never get her to slow down enough to enjoy the scrumptious meal the rest of us gobbled throughout the evening.

Our friends, Stevie and Jennifer, prepared mouth-watering roast beef Po’ Boys with debris gravy and all the fixin’s!

I made my friend, Amber’s recipe for “Mama’s Whipped Shortbread Cookies” while the game was on. Mmmm… mmm!

And followed that with rounds of Tom & Jerry’s. A Christmas tradition in my home growing up. My parents were pretty liberal about letting us share in this “tradition.” But, only one! Still, one of my fondest memories of my Dad is watching him whip up the Tom & Jerry batter and settle into his La-Z-Boy sipping his hot toddy while watching Christmas specials with us on TV.

Because I spent all night in the kitchen, you can see I didn’t take many photos other than of, well, the food. But, I did notice sometime during the third quarter, when it looked like all hope was lost, Reagan running in and out of our bedroom carrying various gifts I had hidden in my closet and handing them out to all of our guests. I asked her what was she doing as I picked up the presents and returned them to the closet.

“Mommy!” she cried, “People want presents!”

Such the entertainer. She obviously knows what the people want. I quickly thought of the candy canes I had also hidden in my closet. I gave her the box and she happily set about distributing them, a huge grin on her face that became contagious.

If the Po’ Boys, shortbread cookies and Tom & Jerry’s weren’t enough to offset the gloom at seeing the Saints undefeated record broken, I’m sure the candy canes did the trick. And that’s what makes my little girl the “Hostess with the Mostest!”

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Raising Reagan. Tags: , , , , , , .

Surprise! It’s Santa! Merry Christmas! It’s a Glade Gift Basket Giveaway!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori in Denver  |  December 21, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I am ALWAYS on the lookout for new rum drinks. Tom & Jerry is new to me — thanks!

    Reagan sounds as gracious as her mommy. What a fun party.

    Condolences about the Saints (half-hearted, I must admit).

    Reply
    • 2. Mama Bird  |  December 22, 2009 at 12:43 am

      Oh, don’t tell me you are a Cowboys fan, Lori! It’s okay. We just won’t talk football. Which is easy for me! 😛

      Reply
  • 3. Delenn  |  December 21, 2009 at 11:30 am

    The Tom & Jerry’s sound yummy! Hearing about your daughter doing this makes me look forward to when my daughter will do stuff like that.

    Reply
    • 4. Mama Bird  |  December 22, 2009 at 12:40 am

      It is truly an amazing age! So much of her personality is really starting to come into focus. I’m sure you will have many fun memories to come, Delenn!

      Reply
  • 5. Sheri  |  December 21, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I am visiting from my sister’s Weebles’ Perfect Moment Monday!

    Reagan sounds so very cute. I loved that she was handing out presents to the guests. And that was some quick thinking on your part to remember the candy canes and let her hand them out.

    It sounds like she’s learned that it’s fun to get presents and perhaps even more fun to give them.

    Thanks for sharing your Perfect Moments!

    Reply
    • 6. Mama Bird  |  December 22, 2009 at 12:36 am

      Thank you, Sheri. It is encouraging to me to see how much joy she gets from giving!

      Reply
  • 7. Lindsay (The Steadfast Warrior)  |  December 21, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    That’s too funny. What a cute daughter you have.

    Reply
  • 9. Amber's Crazy Bloggin' Canuck  |  December 23, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    You GO, girl. It all looks delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


