What I Learned in Clown College

October 6, 2009 at 12:11 am 2 comments

IMG_2196_2

Last year was too soon, but surely my two-year-old would be ready for the circus this year, right? HA! I was lucky to get this picture of her at the Ringling Bros. Barnum and Bailey Circus: Zing Zang Zoom, Pre-show Clown College before she wriggled her way out of the jacket and her Daddy’s arms two seconds later, obviously unappreciative of the latest clown fashions. During the show she spent more time climbing her $30 seat and the ones around us—occupied and unoccupied—than she did watching the Greatest Show on Earth. Thankfully, we were surrounded by parents and it was too dark for me to see their glares.

So anxious am I to start building Reagan’s memories with all that childhood has in store that I couldn’t wait until her attention span surpassed that of Dorothy the Goldfish to try taking her to a two-hour circus show. You’d think I would’ve learned when she spent the entire duration of Madagascar II running up and down the theater aisles. Or, when we had to leave Walking with Dinosaurs briefly while she had a terrible two’s meltdown. And then there’s chasing her around a gymnasium all summer in her gymnastics class…

Why am I in such a hurry for Reagan to grow up? I’m not doing it consciously. Honestly, most of the time I wish she could stay small and in diapers forever. Okay, maybe not the latter, but, still a size 2T would be nice. (The clothes are just so cute!) But, then I find myself wishing she could hurry up and carry on a conversation with me, bake cookies with me or take an interest in shopping. I’m eager to learn her passions and interests. Will she be a bookworm? Love sports? Dancing? I can’t wait to take her to movies, play games and read books together that don’t have pictures.

In my own demented way, I am always looking forward to the next year. As if THAT year will be THE year it all begins. Age three! That’s when stuff will really start to happen. After all, every challenging toy, puzzle and book I pull off the shelf has “3 and up” stamped on it. Most of the classes I want to put her in start at age three! Three is when her vocabulary will surely take off! What is wrong with me?!

There is no reason to be in such a rush! The teen years will be here soon enough, I tell myself. And, that’s when I’m sure to look back and yearn for these days of innocence and unbridled affection. Though I’m also sure I’ll be busy researching colleges and picking out colorfully creative centerpieces for her wedding. 😉

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Raising Reagan. Tags: , , , , , .

Mr. Mom Loses His Training Wheels A Bird’s-Eye Perspective on Role Reversal

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bluecottonmemory  |  October 7, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I was like that with my first son. Then I developed appropriate-age level activities and reduced my anxiet level a hundred fold! For example, for my 4th sons 10th birthday I took him to see the broadway product of THe Lion King that came to my home town. Now that was worth every penny! That circus I tried so long ago with the first one when he was too young? I just remember that I want to forget it! I hear Les Miserable is coming back around. I can’t wait to share that with whichever of my boys are age-appropriate!

    The red nose is adorable!

    Reply
  • 2. Barb  |  November 3, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I was like that with my oldest too! Everyone told me it would fly by so fast! Before I knew it, he was a teenagers. It flies, it really does! Enjoy it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


