Livin’ la Vida Loca!

August 19, 2009 at 3:29 am 11 comments

Well, not exactly, but just knowing I have that option, if I really, really wanted to is just INSANE! For the first time in two-and-a-half years, I am flying solo, baby! And, for FIVE whole days!

There was a time when I didn’t think I could handle being separated from my munchkin. But, yesterday when I returned home from dropping Danny and Reagan off at the airport, I drank in the silence and quickly became drunk. That’s when I knew I had it in me. While they’re visiting MawMaw and PawPaw in New Olreans, Mommy gets to re-live the glory of her pre-diaper days! Whoot, whoot!

So here’s what’s on the agenda:

characters_clowns1. SLEEP!

2. Cirque du Soleil’s “Kooza” with Crystal, AKA Sarah’s Mommy. This will be the first time we’ve done anything together sans the short people.

3. Dig out that massage gift certificate I got for Christmas. I wonder where I put that thing?

4. SLEEEEEEEP!

5. Happy Hour and a movie with Karen where there will be sure to be lots of reminiscing about our fleeting youth as bow heads at ASU.

2440598381_f0b0536a606. Trip to Costco where I sample every sample, twice. Leisurely meander down every aisle and leave only when I’m ready to and not when someone starts hanging off the side of the colossal push cart screaming hysterically because she dropped her cinnamon churro on the floor somewhere between the 50-jet, 6-person lounger spa and the giant tubs of pulled pork.

7. Did I mention, SLEEEEEEEEEPPP?!!!

One day down, four to go. Gotta’ make ’em count!

Photo by Chaps1

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Misadventures. Tags: , , , , , , , .

What’s Next, God? Escaping the Circus in the Box

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helen  |  August 19, 2009 at 5:53 am

    HAVE FUN!!!

    Try, anyway 🙂

    Lucy

    Reply
  • 2. Kim  |  August 19, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Good for u! Sounds like you are making the most of your “free” time.

    Reply
  • 3. Lori in Denver  |  August 19, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Costco? Alone!?

    You are one lucky duck.

    Reply
  • 4. the mama bird diaries  |  August 19, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    sounds great. have fun.

    Reply
  • 5. Mama Bird  |  August 19, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Thanks everyone! So far, only one distressed phone call from the hubby not being able to find something. Not about diapers or toothpaste. His wallet.

    Reply
  • 6. Jen  |  August 19, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    I’m so proud of you! I’m not sure I could deal! I have yet to spend a night away from my little dude. Wimpy, wimpy, wimpy! You go mama bird! Fly the coup! Jump out’a the nest! Chirp very loud! Whatever it takes…just enjoy!

    Reply
    • 7. Mama Bird  |  August 19, 2009 at 11:45 pm

      Are you serious? And you have family living right there? I’d so be taking advantage of that! You need a night out! Do I have to come there and make you? ‘Cuz, I will!

      Reply
  • 8. Gina Bird  |  August 19, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Glad to see you are enjoying those precious moments of free mommy time. Sam was about Reagans age before I let her go for a night away even to Maw-Maws. I had separation anxiety the first time. But quickly learned to enjoy those few and rare moments of peace. 🙂

    Reply
    • 9. Mama Bird  |  August 19, 2009 at 11:46 pm

      I’m on a crash course right now, Gina, and so far, so good!

      Reply
  • 10. Susan (5 Minutes for Mom)  |  August 20, 2009 at 12:35 am

    What is it with everyone suddenly talking about Cirque de Soleil? Janice was just at a show and now I’m soooo jealous. LOL

    Glad to see you’re scheduling in SLEEP! I’m a big fan of sleep… but I don’t always do it on a typical schedule. LOL

    Reply
  • 11. Escaping the Circus in the Box « MaMa Bird's Blog  |  August 21, 2009 at 3:59 am

    […] on day four of what has been extended to a seven-day vacation from my own personal daily circus, I’ve […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


