Up, Up and Away!

July 12, 2009 at 12:29 am 19 comments

Ang-n-FiaPeople come into our lives for a reason, a season or a lifetime it is often said. When I first met Angie, I had no idea the source of comfort she would become for me for the next year and a half. She would say, “God brought us here (to Denver) for a reason, and that reason is you.”

It isn’t difficult to believe that now looking back, beginning with our quick bonding experience that came about as a result of waiting on line at the DMV. Yes, we met at the DMV, so what? Doesn’t everyone meet new friends at the DMV? Anyway, we struck up a conversation while waiting for our numbers to be called for our “glamor shots.”

Me: “You just moved here?” “Me too!”

Angie: “You’re a stay-at-home Mom who doesn’t know anyone in Denver?” “Me too!”

Me: “Your husband’s a pilot?” “Mine too!”

Angie: “You moved here because of Frontier Airlines?” “Us too!”

Me: “My daughter needs a playmate.”

Angie: “Mine too.”

What fate! I had met another new mom in the exact same situation as me! And a pilot’s wife – which is a situation in itself. I had a friend! And a playmate for Reagan! I’m sure many new mothers know that feeling of relief when they first meet someone else who is also housebound and looking for someone to commiserate confer with.

Ang-n-Fia2We talked on the phone a few times, had a play date or two, voluntarily contorted ourselves at yoga classes once or twice, and then decided to make it a family affair. We included our husbands on the next outing, knowing they would surely have lots to talk about. As pilots always do. We made it a date and all got together for the first time on February 16th, 2008. All within two months of deciding it was safe to call someone you just met at the DMV.

Less than one week later, I was making a phone call to my new friend that I never expected to be placing. I called to tell her the news that my husband, Danny was in the hospital after having had a stroke and was just diagnosed with cancer. I asked for her help — something I was unaccustomed to doing. I needed someone to watch Reagan while I visited Danny in the hospital until he was allowed to come home. “I know we’ve just met, but I have no one else to turn to,” I told her. Upon arriving at Angie’s apartment with Reagan, still in a daze from the past 24 hours of crisis, we were both trying to remain strong while I filled her in on Reagan’s routine, showing her what I had brought for her lunch and where her diapers were. Then, we both broke down and cried. She had imagined what she would do in my situation and knew she would be turning to me as well. We both had no one else.

danny-reg-bd2Every day for the next two weeks I would drop Reagan off at Angie’s house on my way to the hospital. I’d fill her in on any news from the doctors as to Danny’s diagnosis and treatment and she would just listen and be strong for me as I waded through the unknown. Unknown today. Unknown tomorrow. She, her husband, Will and little Sofia were there for Reagan’s first birthday held in Danny’s hospital room the first week of his stay. They were there for us over the following weeks and months through doctor’s appointments and chemo treatments and through four weeks of hospitalization for Danny’s bone marrow transplant. They were always there. It was becoming clear to me that perhaps Angie was right. Our meeting was more than just fate, it was divine.

I was so looking forward to life returning to normal so that Angie and I could go back to what we had begun back in January of 2008: just two stay-at-home moms who get together for lunch, yoga and play dates to make our days go by faster. But “fate” would have other plans. Just a few months after Danny’s diagnosis, we learned that Frontier Airlines had declared bankruptcy. As a result, this meant that Will, who flies for Republic Airways, the feeder airline for Frontier (Frontier JetExpress), no longer would be based in Denver as their contract with Frontier was then severed. It was now only a question of how long before our new friends would move back east so Will could be closer to his old home base of Indianapolis and not have to commute.

Reg-n-FiaThree weeks ago we said good-bye to Angie, Will and Sofia. Tears were spilled, but not without some laughs to buffer them. While we are back on our feet here at the Birdhouse, there is a void that has been left since our friends’ departure. Things were never able to go back to “normal” before they left. As if there is such a thing. There is only what’s next.

For whatever reason their stay in Denver was so brief… and perfectly-timed, it seems to me quite divine, that in Angie, Will and Sofia, we have definitely been visited by angels.

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Cancer, Friendship. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

I Cheated on My Daughter Who had more fun, Betty Crocker or Orville Redenbacher?

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori in Denver  |  July 12, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    What a heartwarming story! I love your first conversation, and I bet you two find a way to stay close in spite of the miles between you. She sounds like a great friend and person!

    Reply
    • 2. Mama Bird  |  July 12, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      Thank you, Lori. I think we’ll be friends for more than just a season too!

      Reply
  • 3. jenna  |  July 12, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    What an amazing story of friendship!

    I wanted to introduce myself – I’m Jenna, another community leader at BlogFrog! Nice to ‘meet’ you!

    Reply
    • 4. Mama Bird  |  July 12, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      Nice to meet you Jenna! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  • 5. The Mommy Chef  |  July 12, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    What a touching story about the power of friendship AND fate! Just dropped in from the Blog Frog and I am so glad I did!

    Reply
    • 6. Mama Bird  |  July 12, 2009 at 2:44 pm

      Thanks! Glad you dropped in as well!

      Reply
  • 7. Tara  |  July 12, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Just dropping in from the BlogFrog also.

    What an amazing story! Good friends are hard to find and I’m sure you will remain friends although they are no longer in Denver. Your family was so lucky to have her during that time and I believe God placed her right there for you. Maybe I need to go hang out at the DMV because although I’m only two hours from family, I feel so alone myself. I haven’t found anyone like Angie but maybe one day…

    Reply
    • 8. Mama Bird  |  July 12, 2009 at 9:04 pm

      Haha! Yes, the DMV is THE social club of choice. 😉 Thanks for dropping by!

      Reply
  • 9. Pagebyrner  |  July 12, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Wow. I had no idea you were going through all this. And yet, you seem so up-beat. Stay strong. How is your husband doing?

    Reply
    • 10. Mama Bird  |  July 12, 2009 at 11:35 pm

      Mike! So nice of you to visit! As of 2 weeks ago, Danny is one year cancer-free! He now has more energy than me and could put Dustin Hoffman in a dress to shame! He’s looking forward to being able to go back to work by Feb. 2010. Okay, we’re BOTH looking forward to that day!

      Reply
  • 11. girlydos  |  July 13, 2009 at 12:35 am

    How very sweet and sad too. I think I need to go to the DMV and get me a friend! What a great friendship. Dropped in from Blog Frog— Jenn

    Reply
  • 12. ~Brenda  |  July 13, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Very touching post. Thank you for sharing. I dropped in from the BlogFrog Community Leaders group, and so glad I did! We even live close to each other! 🙂

    So glad your husband is doing better. You both sound like amazing people. Can’t wait to read more and get better acquainted.

    ((Hugs)),

    ~Brenda

    Reply
  • 13. Brandie  |  July 13, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Love your blog thanks for the comment on mine. So excited to be part of the community!

    Reply
  • 14. CFMama  |  July 13, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Hi! I am visiting you from BlogFrog Community Leaders, what a heartwarming story of friendship and support. God works in mysterious ways!

    Reply
  • 15. Linda@ Restyled Home  |  July 17, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    Whata beautiful post about the gift of friendship! I am visiting from the BlogFrog and am happy to have found your lovely blog.

    Cheers,
    Linda

    Reply
  • 16. Holly  |  July 19, 2009 at 5:22 am

    Stopping by as a blogfrog leader. What a touching story about your wonderful friends! God definitely brought them into your lives! And that’s very interesting you met at the DMV. 🙂 I wish they could’ve stayed for you.

    Reply
  • 17. Leah  |  July 21, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Heart Warming!!

    Reply
  • 18. Lisa  |  July 21, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    I am just so glad to hear that God provided someone to help you through this very difficult time when people like me who love you couldn’t. Please let your friend Angie know that I am eternally grateful to her.

    Reply
    • 19. Mama Bird  |  July 22, 2009 at 1:35 pm

      As a mother of 3, you have your own hands full! Love you too, Lisa!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


