Spaghetti-O’s Kisses

June 15, 2009 at 9:02 pm 2 comments

After three days away from my baby, I came home last night to find Reagan finishing up her all-American canned dinner of starchy O-shaped pasta and sweet tomato sauce in her highchair. Seeing her grinning ear-to-ear, arms outstretched for me to pick her up was all I needed to pull her from her chair and let her messy hands reach around my head and into my hair as she pulled me in for a big wet Spaghetti-O’s kiss. I didn’t care that I was now covered in cheap, corn-syrupy red sauce; there was no time to keep it clean without letting the moment pass.

They should’ve been gone for five days while I was at a seminar this weekend, but their trip to New Orleans was canceled. I’m thankful, as I don’t know how I could’ve survived waiting until Wednesday to see her. That test is yet to come now, as Danny and Reagan’s trip has been rescheduled for later this summer. I have a while now to prepare for the BIG ONE.

In the meantime, seeing my daughter after three days is like meeting her again after what seems like much longer. Has she always had that silly grin? Those joyous expressions, are they new? I’m more distinctly aware of how she’s grown and all the new ways she now reveals her personality. It’s curious how being apart for such a short time can make so many things I may not have noticed before stand out to me now and love her even more.

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Raising Reagan. Tags: , , .

Can You Experience Love a Second Time Around? Forget Plan B. What’s Your Plan C?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber's Crazy Bloggin' Canuck  |  June 16, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Nothing like absence to make the heart grow fonder, eh? I, too had a much-needed break but returning home is so much more delightful!

    Reply
    • 2. Mama Bird  |  June 16, 2009 at 10:52 pm

      So true! Welcome home, Amber!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


