Between a Rock and a Hard Place

June 10, 2009 at 1:33 am 3 comments

58757764_e384192d83Drifting. For the past year and a half. Life definitely has a course of its’ own and we have no control of the rudder. What is the lesson here? Still trying to figure that out. For every lighthouse in the distance, a new reef has emerged.

Truth? After two months of working from home, I miss being a full-time Mom to Reagan. I’m good at it. Not liking this role reversal thing. It’s just not me. And, no surprise, it’s not for Danny either.

I came back to work kicking and screaming, but have given it my all because I have no choice. It’s either earn a living or see my family become homeless. Now, as I had feared, the results have not been good for any of us. I know there are families out there making this work. I wish I knew how. It has only caused us much strife, stress and malaise.

During this past weekend away from home, I spent much time pondering and praying the answer be revealed to me and came up short. All I know for sure is that Danny and I are definitely happiest in our traditional roles of Ralph and Alice. Does this mean that will happen? Not for at least another six months when Danny may be medically allowed to return to his job as a glorified bus driver (pilot). So, how do we get through our time adrift on this great, big ocean of crashing waves and scorching sun? I don’t have an answer to that. I’m just leaning on God with all my might and praying He put the wind back in our sails and send us in the direction of safe harbor once again.

Bookmark and Share

Photo credit: Dbuc
Entry filed under: Marriage, Mr. Mom, Working from Home. Tags: , , , .

Do They Make a 3-day Diaper? Can You Experience Love a Second Time Around?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lavender Luz  |  June 10, 2009 at 10:24 am

    My sister is just now coming through a rough 2+ years (her husband, a police officer, became paralyzed suddenly), and I have seen similar feelings on her part.

    I do wish for you a quick passage to that safe harbor. And that you can get back to the roles you both fit well in.

    Reply
    • 2. Mama Bird  |  June 16, 2009 at 10:51 pm

      Lavender Luz & Amber, thank you for the well wishes. I’m very sorry to hear about your sister and her husband, Lavender Luz. Thank God for those who put themselves in harm’s way for us like your brother-in-law. Best of luck to them.

      Reply
  • 3. Amber!  |  June 10, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    I also wish you the best. It is hard handing over your responsibilities and letting go of the control. Good luck to both of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


