Do They Make a 3-day Diaper?

June 5, 2009 at 12:32 pm 5 comments

That was my hubby’s latest post on Facebook in reference to the fact that I will be out of town for the next couple of days. Of course, he was only asking in serious desperation jest. I’m going back to Phoenix to celebrate the adoption of two very adorable little boys out of the foster care system by my good friends and God’s Angels, John and Andrea! (Look for her Amazing Mom story here soon!)

It will be the first time I will be away from my baby girl for more than a day. I know it’s going to be rough, but it’s good preparation for the following week when she and her Daddy will be flying back to New Orleans to visit his folks. They’ll be gone for five days! All this separation in such a short amount of time?! How will I deal?

I’m thinking a margarita or two by the pool will be a good start. Followed by uninterrupted phone calls and evenings on the town with girlfriends. No baby monitors and sleeping ’til noon sounds therapeutic. Maybe watching America’s Next Top Model reruns until I’m one with the sofa. A chance to read all those Parenting magazines piling up in the corner of my bedroom. Time to catch up on my journal or read a good book? I’ll give it all a shot. See how it goes.

Seriously though, it truly is hard to imagine my life now without my little munchkin in it, even if only temporarily. As much as I may enjoy the brief respite, I am glad it is only temporary. She is my world and my light. When we lock eyes I’m transported into another dimension. One where love is all that exists and time disappears. Her energy, laugh, sense of wonderment and boundless affection make her irresistible and remind me of why God gave me this precious gift. My love for her is a picture of His love for me. Being apart is painful, but our reunion will be glorious!

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Raising Reagan. Tags: , , , , , , .

1st Day of Summer Preschool — It Ain’t Pretty. Between a Rock and a Hard Place

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa Armstrong  |  June 5, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Wow! The first trip I took w/o a child I felt thrilled to be Melissa instead of Mommy, if only for a few days. The only pain I felt was talking to Elijah on the phone.

    You’ll do okay, and I’m sure she’ll miss you a ton!

    Reply
    • 2. Mama Bird  |  June 5, 2009 at 2:38 pm

      I’m looking forward to being just Chris for awhile too, Melissa, my sister ANTM fan! Thanks for the perspective! For those 5 days they’re away, I think we’re going to try Skype out. I’m sure that part will be hard!

      Reply
  • 3. Amber's Crazy Bloggin' Canuck  |  June 6, 2009 at 6:35 am

    You WILL miss her like crazy in the beginning but after a while you’ll get into your old groove. I hope you have a FABULOUS time!

    Reply
  • 4. Lavender Luz  |  June 6, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Congrats to your friends!

    The night out on the town sounds WONDERFUL, as will your reunion with your daughter.

    Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 5. Alisa  |  June 9, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    I remember the first time I was away from Kyra for a 3-day business trip. She was not quite two. I got so homesick, it showed. But the upside was returning and having her race to me in the airport, both of us falling to the ground from the sheer force of her throwing her arms around my neck as I knelt to her, and her just joyously and uncontrollably laughing! Words were needless to describe that moment of immense happiness!

    Trust me: You’ll miss her (and Danny); but it’ll be worth it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


