Announcing: Amazing Moms!

May 14, 2009 at 7:40 pm 3 comments

An overwhelming amount of visitors and support have flooded in for Alisa and her story since first being posted this past Sunday. It was an honor to also have the post chosen as the winner of the Blog Frog’s Favorite Mom contest for Mother’s Day.

Working on Alisa’s story has been an incredibly rewarding experience for both of us. Alisa has expressed feeling significantly released from her past since her story has run and is excited for however God should choose to use it in the future. For me, the challenge in writing her story was my own personal test of how far I want to take this blog. How serious am I about it? Will it be a pursuit of passion or just a passing fancy? The great sense of accomplishment I felt when finishing the two-part account has only been surpassed by the apparent confirmation I’ve received that maybe I should keep this blog thing going.

In fact, I’ve decided to make stories like Alisa’s a regular fixture on this blog in a feature to be called: Amazing Moms. We all know women like these, who go above and beyond where most moms go. Maybe it’s you? I would love to tell your story. Post a comment below if you have someone you’d like to nominate as an Amazing Mom.

Now, after all the great accomplishments being tossed about, I thought I’d bring things back down to earth a bit with a list of all the things that have gone unaccomplished since starting this blog less than one month ago:

1. Housework: My bathrooms haven’t seen more than a Clorox disposable wipe for longer than I’d like to publicly admit, and our dust not only has dust, Reagan has started to use our dining room table as her own personal Magna Doodle.

2. Shopping: My daughter’s shirts aren’t really supposed to show off her mid-rift a la Britney Spears, and her only pair of shoes that still fit are elastic sling-backs.

3. Grocery shopping: “Egg!” “I’m sorry baby, we don’t have any eggs.” “Apol!” “Sorry, sweetie, we don’t have any apples either.” “Pear!” “No, we’re out of those too.” “Nana!” “No bananas.” “No, no, sweetie… don’t eat your Playdoh! No!”

4. Personal hygiene: I haven’t had a pedicure in so long my toenails are starting to return to a healthy shade of pink.

5. TV watching: This sounds like a good thing, but what it really means is that our DVR is constantly 97% full because of a month’s worth of Lost, 24 and Prison Break, all of which my husband is threatening to delete and will then possibly have to take out a restraining order on me.

Send in your nominations! 🙂

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Amazing Moms. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Single Mom and Survivor… Part II Releasing Her Inner Cajun

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alisa  |  May 15, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Giiirl, you’ll get back to all those things now! LOL (Don’t be shy to ask for help!) Thank you, thank you, thank you for making this huge sacrifice of time and energy! I look forward to reading more from you.

    Reply
  • 2. Alisa  |  May 15, 2009 at 8:54 am

    PLUS! … You are so funny. 😉

    Reply
    • 3. Mama Bird  |  May 15, 2009 at 9:15 pm

      Thanks, girlfriend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


