I swore I’d never be THAT Mom!

April 24, 2009 at 10:07 pm 5 comments

reagan-elmo4It’s real easy to judge other Moms before you become one. I remember watching friends feed their kids hot dogs and macaroni and cheese and secretly thinking “Not my kids!” Whenever I’d see kids in minivans glued to mini DVD screens, I made a promise to myself that we’d be singing campfire songs in the car and discussing photosynthesis. Kids dressed from head to toe in Barney, Big Bird or any other commercial cartoon character was enough to make me vomit. Of course, the mother that gets the most glares is the one with the hysterical child pulling every box of sugar-coated cereal off the shelf and screaming until they’re red in the face (or their mother is). It’s almost a sport in our society to judge other Moms from afar and has made TV shows like Super Nanny and Nanny 911 instant hits. Sometimes easy to do, as in the case of Madlyn Primoff who perhaps needed to call Nanny 911 before she checked her kids at the curb, it isn’t until we’re in the midst of motherhood ourselves that we begin to understand who really is in charge. There is no negotiating with a two-year old. They are the Osama Bin Ladens of the “crumb-crunchers.”

So it is without shame that I admit to feeding Reagan Spaghetti-O’s and American cheese slices multiple times a week just to be sure she eats something besides Play-doh and the occasional multi-colored Goldfish she finds under the couch. I confess to loading up on Dora the Explorer DVDs for car rides that will last more than half an hour. And when she insists on wearing her Pooh, Dora and Elmo shirts all day, every day and all at the same time, I decide there are more important battles to wage until I can make it to the store to buy more cartoon-charactered clothing to last her at least a week. And, hey, who says Cheetos aren’t one of the four food groups?

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Raising Reagan. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Is the Miss USA Pageant still relevant for our daughters? IN YOUR FACE! Sharing personal space with your spouse 24/7/365.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber's Crazy Bloggin' Canuck  |  April 25, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    I think we are ALL that mom, in so many different ways. Except for when I’m in denial. 🙂

    Would love to add you to Mile High Mamas’ blogroll and have you a part of our community. Please let me know if you’re interested.

    Reply
    • 2. chriscbird  |  April 26, 2009 at 1:19 pm

      Are you kidding?! I’d love to be part of your blogroll! Big fan of Mile High Mamas! Thanks Amber!

      Reply
  • 3. Flu-Bird  |  June 24, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Great picture of the kid hidding her face

    Reply
    • 4. Mama Bird  |  June 25, 2009 at 11:32 am

      Thanks! She’s not so camera-shy anyomore!

      Reply
  • 5. I Cheated on My Daughter « MaMa Bird’s Blog  |  June 29, 2009 at 2:36 am

    […] topic brings with it. Fear of judgment seems to be a common theme in motherhood (see prior post here) and one that I’ve found myself embracing more and more since beginning this blog. So, here […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


