Is the Miss USA Pageant still relevant for our daughters?

April 22, 2009 at 12:40 am 2 comments



Carrie Prejean, 1st Runner-up

Originally uploaded by vrysxy

I flipped on the TV Sunday night to find the Miss USA Pageant in it’s “Q & A” period. I had stopped watching beauty pageants some time in the late 80’s, when it was regular family viewing for most American families. While my toddler sat in her high-chair playing with her dinner, I asked myself, “Will I want Reagan to grow up watching these pageants the way I did,” “is this the image I want her to have of what a woman should be?” and “is this relevant to my daughter today?” I considered whether or not I should change the channel even now. But, before I could do so, the questions being asked caught my attention. These were topical questions dealing with the real issues of the day, such as should the government bail out bankrupt companies and should same-sex marriage be legal in all 50 states? The later being the shock of the evening when Miss California, Carrie Prejean, stated her own personal belief that marriage should be between a man and a woman. “Well,” I said to myself, “that’s it for her. She’s done.” I was then committed to finding out what her fate would be. After all, this is the ultimate public platform for political correctness – “creating world peace” and “ending world hunger” – is it not? And, didn’t she know who was asking the question? Perez Hilton! Either this woman was very brave, or very stupid. She had to know. Therefore, I could only conclude that she had spoken her conscience knowing full well it would mean her demise. Such conviction is to be applauded in a time when saying what you know people want to hear to get ahead seems to be the rule. Bucking that rule has catapulted Prejean into instant hero status.

Prejean gave me the answer to my original question, “Is this relevant to my daughter today?” I instantly decided why not allow Reagan to see what beauty combined with poise, grace, confidence, talent and intelligence looks like? Are those not all the things we want our daughters to grow up to be? Yes, we’ve come a long way, and there are plenty of examples of these qualities for our daughters to look up to now: Oprah, Condoleezza and Sarah Palin to name just a few. Two of those three were former beauty pageant queens themselves. Didn’t work out so bad for them, did it?

Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Raising Reagan. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

I swore I’d never be THAT Mom!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  April 22, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I think Reagan will grow up great because she has you as her example.

    Reply
    • 2. chriscbird  |  April 22, 2009 at 7:45 pm

      Thanks, Amy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A half-hatched role-reversal takes flight on a wing and a prayer.

Life is a misadventure mixed with mayhem.

twit2

Feeds

Archives

Categories

Tweet tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



2button125x125copy


